Throwback Who: Goodbye River Song and The Revelation of Clara Oswald 

  

 

Can you believe it has already been two years since “The Name of The Doctor” aired? If you remember, we said goodbye to River Song in The Doctor’s tomb. Well now, word on the street is actress Alex Kingston may make a return with 12. Given the completely new personality of The Doctor, do you think they will mesh well? Or, do you think many of the dates that River hinted at in the past actually happened with Capaldi’s older Doctor?

   
 In the same episode, Clara’s mystery was also solved when we saw her jump into The Doctor’s timeline and scatter versions of herself everywhere. Do you think the show has tried too hard to make Clara important? And, how do you feel about her progression as a companion?

My thoughts: I like River Song but I think it’s best to leave her story where it ended. I am admittedly not a Clara fan (she annoys me and bores me simlutaneously) but I do like how there is no sexual tension between her and 12. I’m hoping this upcoming season will have the two of them just having fun and saving planets. I’m not here for a River/12 relationship. But if it happens…I’ll watch anyway lol

Clara…hmm. Not sure I’m digging her progression. I feel like the show is overly focused on her. Yes, modern companions are much more of a centerpiece in the series, but it’s a little much with this whole Clara in his streamline and throwing away TARDIS keys in a rage bit. I really hope my mind changes about her in Series 9…

Let me know your thoughts!

-The Bad Wolf Blerd 

Twitter: @badwolfblerd

Leave a comment